There’s water at the end of the diggings


by Jell E. Guzman

PARANAQUE CITY, Jan.24 (PIA) – Maynilad will soon bring more water to residents of southwest portion of Metro Manila as PAGCOR’s P680- million pumping station and reservoir located inside PAGCOR city in Parañaque City is expected to provide 300 million liters of potable water per day.

Customers of Parañaque, Las Piñas, Cavite City, and five other municipalities of Cavite province will soon benefit from the new facility as Maynilad finishes pipe-laying activities in these areas.

According to Ronald Padua, Maynilad’s water network head, this will initially benefit 64,629 existing customers in Cavite and Las Piñas. But as soon as the primary line pipe-laying along Aguinaldo Highway and Tirona Road are completed, Maynilad’s services will expand its services to around 166,295 households more, added Padua.

Padua also said that the beneficiary area is currently being supplied by Maynilad’s Pasay pumping station. He cited the need to replace higher capacity booster pumps and reservoir due to the increasing demand in the area. Padua said further that the new PAGCOR facility will allow Maynilad to deliver more water to existing customers living in elevated portions and to those living in the farthest extremities of Cavite and Las Piñas

The PAGCOR pumping station and reservoir can store up to 23 million liters with a pump station that can generate up to 330 million liters per day (MLD) sufficient to meet the 100MLD additional water supply requirement of its service area.

The facility also complements other Maynilad projects in the south, such as the state-of-the-art Putatan Water Treatment Plant in Muntinlupa City that can provide water supply to the lower southeast of Metro Manila.

The upgrading of the pumping station in Pasay and construction of yet another pumping station in Villamor will also augment the volume of water that will flow through mainlines along Aguinaldo Highway, Alabang-Zapote Road, and other areas in the south

Maynilad currently serves the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres & Sta Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, EDSA, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the Districts of the Holy Spirit & Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Hi-way), Caloocan, Pasay, Paranaque, Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; Cavite City, and the towns of Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province. (Maynilad/PIA-NCR/Jell E. Guzman)

You may also like...