Outstanding Sangguniang Barangays in Paranaque honored

The Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), in partnership with the Parañaque City Government under the leadership of Mayor Florencio Bernabe, Jr., announced on Monday the winners in the city’s search for the “Outstanding Sangguniang Barangay” and “Lupon Tagapamayapa” for the year 2009.

In the “Outstanding Sangguniang Barangay” category, the Barangay Council of Sun Valley topped the list followed by San Dionisio and Tambo. For the “Lupon Tagapamayapa” category, the winners are Lupon Tagapamayapa of BF Homes, San Dionisio, Don Galo, San Antonio and Don Bosco.

Apart from their respective certificates of recognition, the winning Sangguniang Barangay and Lupon Tagapamayapa also received cash prizes from City Mayor Jun Bernabe.

The Parañaque City Government also recognized SK Federation President Marinelle Formentera for winning the “Dangal ng Pilipinas Award for Local Youth Service & Governance Excellence”, likewise for her contributions to the youth development program. The mayor also presented a Posthumous Award in honor of the late Brgy. Merville Sangguniang Kabataan Chairman Aljohn Sercado.

“We wish to thank our barangay councils, national government agencies, non-government organizations, the business community, our SKs, youth and community groups for their open-handed support to our programs and projects that promote sustainable life, peaceful community, environmental protection and conservation. I hope that they will sustain their initiatives and continue to promote a healthy and sustainable environment in their communities for the benefit of all.”, Mayor Jun Bernabe said.

This annual awards program aims to recognize, reward and encourage every barangay councils as well as other sectors in the community to help the local government in implementing programs and projects. The award system is part of the “Katarungang Pambarangay” agenda of the Department of Justice which is being implemented in cooperation with the Dept. of Interior and Local Government and LGUs. The DILG office in Parañaque City is headed by City Director Teresita Fababeir. (Public Information Office)

You may also like...