Maynilad expands facilities in Muntinlupa, Las Piñas

By Riza T. Olchondra
Philippine Daily Inquirer

2:07 am | Monday, September 17th, 2012

Maynilad Water Services Inc. said it was currently constructing the Daang Hari booster pump station to further improve service levels in Muntinlupa and Las Piñas cities.

Once completed, the P106-million facility will benefit 12,870 households from Ayala Alabang Village, BF Almanza, TS Cruz Subdivision and Pilar Village, Maynilad said.

The facility will increase water supply availability in those areas from 10 hours to 24 hours. It will also allow customers to enjoy a water pressure of 16 pounds per square inch (psi). It takes about 7 psi for water to reach the second floor of a building.

Maynilad said it has likewise completed the Daang Hari primary line segment in Muntinlupa and Las Piñas. The P207-million project involved the laying of 3.9 kilometers of new pipelines from the Alabang-Zapote Road to Versailles Subdivision.

The investment will provide a ready supply of potable, surface water to households in Versailles Subdivision and replace the existing deep well source of 400 households from Ayala Southvale Village, Ayala Southvale Sonera Subdivision and St. Jude Subdivision.

As a concessionaire of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System, Maynilad said it was required to connect West Zone residents and establishments to its water network to prevent the over-extraction of groundwater.

This was specially required in so-called critical areas like Muntinlupa and Las Piñas, Maynilad said.

Citing experts’ warnings, Maynilad president and CEO Ricky Vargas said that groundwater over-extraction posed serious and long-term threats to communities and the environment.

“Our aggressive capital expenditure projects in the south aim to allow more people to have access to safe, reliable and affordable surface water,” Vargas said.

For 2012, Maynilad earmarked P3.08 billion to improve and expand its water services in Parañaque, Muntinlupa, Las Piñas and Cavite.

Maynilad is a concessionaire of the MWSS for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area. This is composed of the cities of Manila (all but portions of San Andres and Sta. Ana), Quezon City (west of San Juan River, West Avenue, Edsa, Congressional, Mindanao Avenue, the northern part starting from the districts of the Holy Spirit and Batasan Hills), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite province.

You may also like...